Home ]







Colin Chapman `invented’ a system that has been widely accepted as a key to abbreviating Country and County names into a universal 3-letter code.


Administrative Areas of the Republic of Ireland

Following the Government of Ireland Act 1920, 26 of Ireland's 32 counties left the United Kingdom and formed the Irish Free State. In 1949 this became the Republic of Ireland.

Province CCC County CCC Centre
Connaught CNN Galway GAL Galway
Leitrim LET Carrick-on-Shannon
Mayo MAY Castlebar
Roscommon ROS Roscommon
Sligo SLI Sligo
Leinster LEN Carlow CAR Carlow
Dublin DUB Dublin
Kildare KID Naas
Kilkenny KIK Kilkenny
King's County / Offaly (1) OFF Tullamore
Longford LOG Longford
Louth LOU Dundalk
Meath MEA Navan (2)
Queen's County / Laois (3) LEX Portlaoise
Westmeath WEM Mullingar
Wexford WEX Wexford
Wicklow WIC Wicklow
Munster MUN Clare CLA Ennis
Cork COR Cork
Kerry KER Tralee
Limerick LIM Limerick
Tipperary TIP Clonmel
Waterford WAT Waterford
Ulster (4)  UIE Cavan CAV Cavan
Donegal DON Lifford
Monaghan MOG Monaghan

The name "King's County" (or simply "King's") was changed to "Offaly" in 1921.
Also known as "An Uaimh".
The name "Queen's County" (or simply "Queen's") was changed to "Laois" in 1921. It is sometimes spelt "Laoighis" and is also known as "Leix".
The six counties of Northern Ireland are also part of the Province of Ulster.